Town Clerk - Yolanda Violette
Email: [email protected]
Births, Deaths, and Marriages
Recording Vital Statistics is the process of collecting data of all births, deaths and marriages that occur in the municipality, or involve its residents, so that the permanent records may be preserved. State law requires hospitals, physicians, funeral directors, ministers, notary publics, and others to complete certificates of all marriages, births and deaths in our municipality and file them with the Municipal Clerk promptly.
Effective July 12, 2010, the law preventing fraudulent use of vital records went into effect. Maine's law requires a person requesting a copy of birth records less than 75 years old, marriage records less than 50 years old, and death records less than 25 years old to provide documentation establishing their direct and legitimate interest in the records.
Please click on the links below for more specific information on obtaining these vital records.
Marriage Intentions and Certificates
Plan for 1/2 hour to 45 mins to process a Marriage Licenses.
The Town issues Marriage Licenses but does Not perform Marriages.
- Marriage Intentions Information
- Marriage Intentions, VS2-A - 7/22- Print single sided, fill in with Black Ink Only, Do NOT Sign till in front of the Clerk
- Marriage Certificates Information
Marriage Certificate Application
Maine Vitals Website for more information:
The Maine Office of Vital Records does not permit or allow any records, whether certified or non-certified, to be faxed, email or otherwise electronically disseminated to any individual, business, or institution.
If a person needs a certified record faxed to the airport for travel, that person must contact the Office of Vital Records in Augusta, Maine. Municipal Clerks may not fax certified or non-certified copies of any birth, death, or marriage unless the Office of Vital Records has given authorization to the Clerk.
Residents of the State of Maine are required by law to register their dogs by: December 31st each year.
Dog tags are available October 15th. We will need a current rabies certificate at the time you register your dog.
Fees are as follows: Unaltered Dogs $11.00 Altered Dogs $6.00
There will be a State-mandated late fee of $25.00 for each dog registered after January 31st.
License Your Dog Online (Only available Oct 15th - Jan 31st)
Did you know your dog licensing fees support:
- Local Animal Control Officers and State Humane Agents
- Investigation of animal cruelty complaints and enforcement of animal welfare laws
- Compliance with rabies vaccination of dogs
- Care for sick and injured stray animals
- Return of lost dogs to their owners
See Election Information Page - Click Here